Evidence mapPaperPMID 39193872Full record

SynthesisThe Cochrane database of systematic reviews2024

Non-surgical interventions for preventing contralateral tissue loss and amputation in dysvascular patients with a primary major lower limb amputation.

Jonathan De Siqueira, David A Russell, Heidi J Siddle, Suzanne H Richards, Elizabeth McGinnis

Abstract readMeta-AnalysisSystematic Review
In one paragraph

Synthesis in The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 2024. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Cited by 2 papers, 1 of them a synthesis that pooled it.

0numbers the graph read from it
0cells of the map it votes in
2citing papers in PubMed, 1 pooled it
field-weighted citation impact
1 · What the graph read from it

What it found

Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.

The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.

2 · The registry

The trial behind it

Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.

Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.

3 · Its place in the literature

Who cites it

2 citing papers in PubMed, 1 synthesis or guideline pooled it.

  1. Pooled it
  2. Article
4 · The record

Corrections and comments

PubMed lists nothing against this paper. Absence here is not a guarantee, only a check that was made.

5 · Who and what money

Authors and funding

5 authors.

Jonathan De SiqueiraLeeds Institute of Cardiovascular and Metabolic Medicine, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK.
David A RussellLeeds Vascular Institute, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, Leeds, UK.
Heidi J SiddleLeeds Institute of Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK.
Suzanne H RichardsLeeds Institute of Health Sciences, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK.
Elizabeth McGinnisClinical Trials Research Unit, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK.

Funding

No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.

6 · The paper itself

Abstract

rationaleMajor lower limb amputation (LLA, above the ankle) is performed for people with intractable pain, life-threatening infections, or non-functional limbs. Of 7500 LLAs carried out in England between 2015 and 2018, the majority of these were performed in dysvascular patients. Dysvascularity is the absence of adequate blood supply to maintain a limb's usual function (ischaemia, usually caused by peripheral arterial disease or diabetes mellitus), ultimately leading to pain and tissue injury (ulcers, gangrene, sometimes referred to as tissue loss). Among those who undergo dysvascular LLA, 5.7% and 11.5% will likely undergo contralateral LLA at one and five years respectively, which is associated with greater disability and lower likelihood of returning to work, increasing the psychological burden to the patient and socioeconomic cost to the patient and health service. While extensive research has been carried out in the management of peripheral arterial disease and the care of diabetic feet, there are no guidelines for practice on prevention of contralateral amputation.

objectivesTo assess the effects of non-surgical interventions versus placebo, no intervention, or other non-surgical interventions on contralateral limb (CLL) tissue loss and amputation in dysvascular patients with a primary major LLA. SEARCH

methodsThe Cochrane Vascular Information Specialist searched the Cochrane Vascular Specialised Register, CENTRAL, MEDLINE, Embase, CINAHL and PEDro databases and the World Health Organization International Clinical Trials Registry Platform and ClinicalTrials.gov trials registers until 20 March 2023. We also checked the references of identified studies and contacted study authors and manufacturers of relevant products. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA: We aimed to include all randomised controlled trials (RCTs) and quasi-RCTs (e.g. randomised by birthdate) comparing the effectiveness of a non-surgical intervention with placebo, no intervention, or other non-surgical intervention, in adults with a primary major LLA due to dysvascularity. Interventions could be physical, pharmacological, educational, behavioural, or organisational, and delivered by a healthcare professional or carer. OUTCOMES: Our critical and important outcomes of interest were as follows. Critical outcomes • Incidence of new localised tissue injury or ulceration (tissue loss) of the CLL, regardless of stage or classification at given time points. • Time to the development of any localised tissue injury or ulceration (tissue loss) of the CLL, regardless of stage or classification. • Incidence of new minor amputation (through the ankle, foot, or toe(s)) of the CLL at given time points. • Time to new minor amputation (through the ankle, foot, or toe(s)) of the CLL. • Incidence of new major amputation (whole limb or partial limb, above the ankle) of the CLL at given time points. • Time to new major amputation (whole limb or partial limb, above the ankle) of the CLL. Important outcomes • Survival (time to death from all causes) at 12 months. • Patient-reported outcome measures of health-related quality of life (HRQoL) using validated scales such as the 12-item Short Form Health Survey (SF-12) and EQ-5D. • Adverse events (e.g. infections in the CLL). • Hospital readmission. RISK OF BIAS: We used Cochrane's RoB 1 tool to assess risk of bias in the included study. SYNTHESIS

methodsWe were only able to perform a narrative review due to lack of data. We reported risk ratios (RR) with 95% CIs for dichotomous outcomes. We used GRADE to assess the certainty of evidence for each outcome. INCLUDED STUDIES: We found one eligible study, which compared electrostimulation of the gastrocnemius muscle and standard rehabilitation against standard rehabilitation in 50 dysvascular amputees. SYNTHESIS OF

resultsThere was no new incidence of tissue loss reported. The following outcomes were not reported: time to new tissue loss; time to and incidence of minor amputation; HRQoL outcomes; adverse events; and hospital readmissions. Electrostimulation was associated with a three-fold reduction in the incidence of new major amputation of the CLL (RR 0.33, 95% CI 0.04 to 2.99), although time to new major amputation was not reported. There was no difference between groups in 12-month survival (RR 1.0, 95% CI 0.85 to 1.18). We judged the overall certainty of the evidence (GRADE) as very low across all outcomes, with unclear risk of selection and detection bias and high risk of performance bias. AUTHORS'

conclusionsDespite the care of the CLL being identified as a key research priority by two separate consensus papers, there is insufficient high-quality evidence to address this priority to date. We found only a single RCT suitable for inclusion, and this study was subject to risk of bias. Contralateral limb outcomes should be recorded in future research on dysvascular amputees. Until better evidence and clearer recommendations are available, this topic is likely to remain a research priority.

fundingThis Cochrane review had no dedicated funding. REGISTRATION: Protocol available via DOI 10.1002/14651858.CD013857.

Indexed as

Amputation, SurgicalRandomized Controlled Trials as TopicHumansLower ExtremityPeripheral Arterial Disease

Identifiers

PMID39193872
PMCPMC11350623

What Socratic holds

Textmetadata
Read underepoch 390

Registered trials

None linked

Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the Socratic graph.