Observational studyTransfusion2025
Plasma transfusion in the intensive care unit.
Observational study in Transfusion, 2025. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Cited by 2 papers.
What it found
Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.
The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.
The trial behind it
Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.
Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.
Who cites it
2 citing papers in PubMed.
- Multinational transfusion practices and outcomes in haematology patients admitted to the intensive care unit.Vox sanguinis · 2026Observational
- Plasma transfusion in the intensive care unit.Transfusion · 2025Observational
Corrections and comments
PubMed lists nothing against this paper. Absence here is not a guarantee, only a check that was made.
Authors and funding
42 authors.
Funding
Abstract
backgroundCurrent guidelines discourage prophylactic plasma use in non-bleeding patients. This study assesses global plasma transfusion practices in the intensive care unit (ICU) and their alignment with current guidelines. STUDY DESIGN AND
methodsThis was a sub-study of an international, prospective, observational cohort. Primary outcomes were in-ICU occurrence rate of plasma transfusion, proportion of plasma events of total blood products events, and number of plasma units per event. Secondary outcomes included transfusion indications, INR/PT, and proportion of events for non-bleeding indications.
resultsOf 3643 patients included, 356 patients (10%) experienced 547 plasma transfusion events, accounting for 18% of total transfusion events. A median of 2 (IQR 1, 2) units was given per event excluding massive transfusion protocol (MTP) and 3 (IQR 2, 6) when MTP was activated. MTP accounted for 39 (7%) of events. Indications of non-MTP events included active bleeding (54%), prophylactic (25%), and pre-procedure (12%). Target INR/PT was stated for 43% of transfusion events; pre-transfusion INR/PT or visco-elastic hemostatic assays (VHA) were reported for 73%. Thirty-seven percent of events were administered for non-bleeding indications, 54% with a pre-transfusion INR < 3.0 and 30% with an INR < 1.5. DISCUSSION: Plasma transfusions occurred in 10% of ICU patients. Over a third were given for non-bleeding indications and might have been avoidable. Target INR/PT was not stated in more than half of transfusions, and pre-transfusion INR/PT or VHA was not reported for 27%. Further research and education is needed to optimize guideline implementation and to identify appropriate indications for plasma transfusion.
Indexed as
Identifiers
What Socratic holds
Registered trials
Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the Socratic graph.