Evidence map›Paper›PMID 40337980›Full record

SynthesisThe Cochrane database of systematic reviews2025

Interventions for idiopathic steroid-resistant nephrotic syndrome in children.

Isaac D Liu, Narelle S Willis, Jonathan C Craig, Elisabeth M Hodson

Abstract readMeta-AnalysisSystematic Review
In one paragraph

Synthesis in The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 2025. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Cited by 7 papers, 2 of them syntheses that pooled it.

0numbers the graph read from it
0cells of the map it votes in
7citing papers in PubMed, 2 pooled it
–field-weighted citation impact
1 · What the graph read from it

What it found

Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.

The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.

2 · The registry

The trial behind it

Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.

Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.

3 · Its place in the literature

Who cites it

7 citing papers in PubMed, 2 syntheses or guidelines pooled it.

  1. Pooled it
  2. Pooled it
  3. Article
  4. Article
  5. Article
  6. Article
  7. Review
4 · The record

Corrections and comments

5 · Who and what money

Authors and funding

4 authors.

Isaac D LiuDuke-NUS Medical School; Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, Singapore, Singapore.
Narelle S WillisSydney School of Public Health, The University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia.
Jonathan C CraigCochrane Kidney and Transplant, Centre for Kidney Research, The Children's Hospital at Westmead, Westmead, Australia.
Elisabeth M HodsonCochrane Kidney and Transplant, Centre for Kidney Research, The Children's Hospital at Westmead, Westmead, Australia.

Funding

No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.

6 · The paper itself

Abstract

backgroundNephrotic syndrome is a condition in which the glomeruli of the kidney leak large amounts of protein from the blood into the urine. Most children who present with their first episode of nephrotic syndrome achieve remission with corticosteroids. Children who fail to respond to corticosteroids in the first episode of nephrotic syndrome (initial resistance) or develop resistance after one or more responses to corticosteroids (delayed resistance) may be treated with immunosuppressive agents, including calcineurin inhibitors (cyclosporin or tacrolimus), and with non-immunosuppressive agents, such as angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors and angiotensin receptor blockers. However, response to these agents is limited, so newer agents, including anti-CD20 antibodies (rituximab, ofatumumab) and dual endothelin-angiotensin receptor antagonists (sparsentan), are being assessed for efficacy and safety. This is an update of a review first published in 2004 and updated in 2006, 2010, 2016 and 2019.

objectivesTo evaluate the benefits and harms of different interventions used in children with idiopathic nephrotic syndrome, who do not achieve remission following four weeks or more of daily corticosteroid therapy. SEARCH

methodsThe Cochrane Kidney and Transplant (CKT) Information Specialist searched the CKT Register of Studies to 28 January 2025 using search terms relevant to this review. Studies in the Register are identified through searches of CENTRAL, MEDLINE and Embase, conference proceedings, the International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) Search Portal and ClinicalTrials.gov. SELECTION CRITERIA: We included randomised controlled trials (RCTs) and quasi-RCTs that compared different immunosuppressive or non-immunosuppressive agents with placebo, prednisone or another agent given orally or parenterally in children aged three months to 18 years with steroid-resistant nephrotic syndrome (SRNS). We included studies that enrolled children and adults, in which paediatric data could not be separated from adult data. DATA COLLECTION AND ANALYSIS: Two review authors independently screened the search results, determined study eligibility, assessed risk of bias and extracted study data. We expressed dichotomous outcomes as risk ratios (RRs) with 95% confidence intervals (CIs), and continuous outcomes as mean differences (MDs) with 95% CIs. We used a random-effects model to pool data, and GRADE to assess the certainty of the evidence. The main outcomes of interest were treatment response (complete, partial, or complete or partial remission), kidney failure and adverse events. MAIN

resultsWe included 29 studies (1248 evaluated children). Sixteen studies were at low risk of bias for sequence generation and allocation concealment. Seven and 21 studies were at low risk of performance and detection bias, respectively. Sixteen, 15 and 15 studies were at low risk of attrition bias, reporting bias and other bias, respectively. Compared with placebo, corticosteroid or no treatment, cyclosporin may increase the number who achieve complete remission (RR 3.50, 95% CI 1.09 to 11.20; 4 studies, 74 children) or complete or partial remission (RR 3.15, 95% CI 1.04 to 9.57; 4 studies, 74 children) by two to six months (low-certainty evidence). It is uncertain whether cyclosporin reduces the likelihood of kidney failure or increases the likelihood of worsening hypertension or infection (very low-certainty evidence). Compared with intravenous cyclophosphamide, calcineurin inhibitors may increase the number with complete remission (RR 3.43, 95% CI 1.84 to 6.41; 2 studies, 156 children) and complete or partial remission (RR 1.98, 95% CI 1.25 to 3.13; 2 studies, 156 children) at three to six months (low-certainty evidence), and probably reduces the number with treatment failure (no response, serious infection, persistently elevated creatinine) and medications ceased due to adverse events (moderate-certainty evidence), with little or no increase in serious infections (moderate-certainty evidence). Kidney failure was not reported. Tacrolimus may make little or no difference to the number who achieve complete, or complete or partial remission at six and 12 months compared with cyclosporin, but may reduce the number who relapse during treatment (RR 0.22, 95% CI 0.06 to 0.90; 1 study, 34 children) or the number with worsening hypertension (low-certainty evidence). Hypertrichosis and gingival hyperplasia probably increased with cyclosporin. Kidney failure was not reported. Compared with mycophenolate mofetil (MMF) and dexamethasone, cyclosporin probably makes little or no difference to complete, partial, or complete or partial remission (moderate-certainty evidence), and may make little or no difference to kidney failure, serious infection requiring hospitalisation or hypertension (low-certainty evidence). Among children who have achieved complete remission, tacrolimus compared with MMF may increase the number who maintain complete, partial, or complete or partial response for 12 months, but may make little or no difference to serious adverse events and serious infection (low-certainty evidence). Oral cyclophosphamide plus prednisone compared with prednisone alone may make little or no difference to the number who achieve complete remission (low-certainty evidence) and has uncertain effects on adverse events. Kidney failure was not reported. Compared with oral cyclophosphamide plus intravenous dexamethasone, intravenous cyclophosphamide may make little or no difference to complete, partial, or complete or partial remission at six months. There may be little or no difference in bacterial infections; however, hypertension may decrease (all low-certainty evidence). Kidney failure was not reported. It is uncertain whether rituximab/cyclosporin/prednisolone compared with cyclosporin/prednisolone increases the likelihood of remission or reduces adverse events because the certainty of the evidence is very low. Kidney failure was not reported. AUTHORS'

conclusionsCalcineurin inhibitors may increase the likelihood of complete or partial remission compared with placebo/no treatment or cyclophosphamide. For other regimens, it remains unclear whether the interventions alter outcomes because the certainty of the evidence is low. Further adequately powered, well-designed RCTs are needed to evaluate other regimens for children with idiopathic SRNS. Since SRNS represents a spectrum of diseases, future studies should enrol children from better-defined groups of people with SRNS.

Indexed as

Immunosuppressive AgentsNephrotic SyndromeAdolescentAdrenal Cortex HormonesAngiotensin-Converting Enzyme InhibitorsAngiotensin Receptor AntagonistsAntibodies, Monoclonal, HumanizedBiasCalcineurin InhibitorsChildChild, PreschoolCyclosporineDrug ResistanceHumansInfantRandomized Controlled Trials as TopicAdrenal Cortex HormonesAngiotensin-Converting Enzyme InhibitorsAngiotensin Receptor AntagonistsAntibodies, Monoclonal, HumanizedCalcineurin InhibitorsCyclosporineImmunosuppressive AgentsofatumumabRituximabTacrolimus

Identifiers

PMID40337980
PMCPMC12060654

What Socratic holds

Textmetadata
Read underepoch 390

Registered trials

None linked

Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the Socratic graph.