Evidence map›Paper›PMID 41586430›Full record

ArticleFrontiers in drug safety and regulation2025

Hepatobiliary adverse drug reactions during treatment with olaparib: an analysis of data from the EudraVigilance reporting system.

Elena-Mirabela Velişcu, Cecilia Cagnotta, Maria Giuseppa Sullo, Antonietta Anatriello, Francesco Salvo, Cristina Scavone

Abstract read
In one paragraph

Article in Frontiers in drug safety and regulation, 2025. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Cited by 1 paper.

0numbers the graph read from it
0cells of the map it votes in
1citing papers in PubMed
–field-weighted citation impact
1 · What the graph read from it

What it found

Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.

The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.

2 · The registry

The trial behind it

Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.

Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.

3 · Its place in the literature

Who cites it

1 citing paper in PubMed.

  1. Article
4 · The record

Corrections and comments

PubMed lists nothing against this paper. Absence here is not a guarantee, only a check that was made.

5 · Who and what money

Authors and funding

6 authors.

Elena-Mirabela Velişcu *Eu2P Programme, University Bordeaux, Bordeaux, France.
Cecilia Cagnotta *Department of Experimental Medicine - University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Naples, Italy.
Maria Giuseppa SulloDepartment of Experimental Medicine - University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Naples, Italy.
Antonietta AnatrielloDepartment of Experimental Medicine - University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Naples, Italy.
Francesco Salvo *University Bordeaux, INSERM, BPH, U1219, Team AHeaD, Bordeaux, France.
Cristina Scavone *Department of Experimental Medicine - University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Naples, Italy.

Funding

No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.

6 · The paper itself

Abstract

Background: olaparib is a Poly ADP-Ribose Polymerase inhibitor approved for the treatment of BRCA-mutated tumors, and has been associated with hepatotoxicity, as highlighted by the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee. Objectives and methods: to describe Drug-Induced Liver Injury (DILI) cases related to olaparib stratifying them by liver damage origin in "cholestatic", "cytolytic", "mixed", "liver related investigation" and "not specified" cases, by analyzing data from EudraVigilance (EV) database. Results: 344 Individual Case Safety Reports (ICSRs) reporting olaparib-induced liver injury cases were retrieved from the EV. They referred more frequently to female patients belonging to the age group 18-64 years. The majority of ICSRs (66.0%) reported serious Adverse events (AEs), classified as "Other Medically Important Condition", while 23 ICSRs reported fatal AEs. Among the 344 DILI cases, 19.5% were classified as "cytolytic", 3.5% as "cholestatic" and 1.5% as "mixed" origin. Most DILI cases were temporally associated with "liver-related investigations" (39.8%) and 15.1% were classified as "not specified". A further 20.6% of cases involved PTs related to liver neoplasms (benign or malignant). Conclusion: Further pharmacovigilance studies are needed to evaluate the hepatic safety profile of olaparib. Investigating the pathophysiological mechanisms underlying olaparib-induced liver injury could offer clinicians valuable insights for its prevention and management.

Indexed as

adverse eventsDILI casesEudraVigilanceolaparibsafety profile

Identifiers

PMID41586430
PMCPMC12827739

What Socratic holds

Textmetadata
LicenceCC BY
Read underepoch 390

Registered trials

None linked

Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the Socratic graph.